As we know, California has enacted a series of laws that strengthen the state’s protections against workplace harassment. The deadline for sexual harassment training compliance has been updated to January 1, 2021, a year later than the initial date of January 1, 2020.
Even though companies have an extra year to fully comply with these new harassment laws, we recommend to not delay training. Companies must still provide training to all new employees within the first 6 months of hire. So, in order to ensure best practice, companies need to start implementing them as soon as possible.
We advise companies to use a learning platform, like CorpStrat, to keep employers on track and help with compliance. Employers will be able to easily upload their roster, push out trainings, track progress and secure completion certifications. With a platform, companies will be able to get started on compliance right away. Again, it is important to know that delaying is not best practice.
To recap, here are the new California laws that companies must implement:
- Require employers with five or more employees in the state to provide sexual harassment prevention training to all employees;
- Expand and clarify employer liability for workplace harassment; and
- Prohibit employers from entering certain agreements related to sexual harassment and other unlawful acts in the workplace.
All California employers should become familiar with the new laws. Those with five or more employees should review the new training requirements and ensure that each of their employees receives the required training by the end of 2020.
- Managers must complete 2 hours
- Employees must complete 1 hour
The appropriate training must be completed by each employee within six months of assuming his or her job. Each employee must receive the appropriate training once every two years.
The deadline for initial compliance with these requirements is now January 1, 2021.
Contact CorpStrat to learn more about our learning platform ASAP! Don’t delay.